Skip to main content

Advisory Boards

The Chao Family Comprehensive Cancer Center (CFCCC) brings together the expertise of external advisors who are leaders and content experts in their respective scientific, business and lay communities. Together, these boards guide the Cancer Center on their mission and vision.

The EAB serves a key role in the CFCCC’s planning and evaluation of its three cancer research programs, shared resources and supporting research infrastructure. The EAB reviews the overall strategy and progress and makes specific recommendations to the CFCCC director to improve our goals under our mission.

  • Louis Weiner, MD (Chair): Director, Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Roshan Bastani, PhD: Director, Disparities Research & Co-Director, Prevention & Control Research, UCLA Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • John H. Bushweller, PhD: Leader, Chemical & Structural Biology Program, University of Virginia Cancer Center
  • Catriona Jamieson, MD, PhD: Deputy Director, Professor of Medicine and Chief, Division of Regenerative Medicine, Koman Family Presidential Endowed Chair in Cancer Research, UC San Diego Moores Cancer Center
  • Cheryl Willman, MD: Director, Mayo Clinic Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Primo "Lucky" Lara, Jr., MD: Director, UC Davis Comprehensive Cancer Center, Professor of Medicine, Division of Hematology-Oncology, Codman-Radke Endowed Chair for Cancer Research, Executive Associate Dean for Cancer Programs
  • Anita Kinney, PhD: Professor of Epidemiology; Associate Director, Cancer Health Equity & Engagement, Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey
  • Kit Lam, MD, PhD: Professor & Chair, Department of Biochemistry and Mol. Medicine, UC Davis Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Meredith Mullins, JD, MBA: Higher Education Project Consultant, Huron Consulting Group
  • Kevin Shannon, MD: Professor, Departments of Pediatrics, Cellular & Mol. Pharmacology, UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Samuel Achilefu, PhD, FRSC: Co-Leader, Oncologic Imaging Program, Siteman Cancer Center, Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering and Biochemistry & Molecular, Chief for Optical Radiology Laboratory
  • Kevan M. Shokat, PhD: Professor, Department of Cellular & Molecular Pharmocology, University of California, San Francisco
  • Michael J. Birrer, MD, PhD: Director, Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute, Vice Chancellor, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
  • John Pounardjian, MBA: Associate Vice President, Associate Director for Administration, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center

The CEB, established in 2019, comprises advocates from the diverse ethnicities and professions in Southern California. Members include representatives of community-based organizations, academic institutions, and cancer survivors. If you would like to join our CEB, please visit our Community page to learn more about our initiatives.

  • Gabriela Robles, MAHCM, MBA, MURP (Chair): Cancer Survivor & Chief Executive, St. Joseph Health Community Partnership Fund
  • Ellen Ahn, JD, MSW: Executive Director of Korean Community Services
  • Daniel Stony Anderson, MD: President, California Colorectal Cancer Coalition
  • Isabel Becerra: Executive Director, Coalition of Community Health Centers Orange County
  • Karen Alvarez: Associate Director of Cancer Center Partnerships, American Cancer Society
  • Becky Nguyen, MPH: Executive Director, Vietnamese American Cancer Foundation
  • Maria Matza, PhD, RNC: Associate Professor, CSUF & Vice President, OC NAHN, National Association of Hispanic Nurses, Orange County
  • Michelle Burroughs, MPH: Deputy Director & Financial Administrative Officer, UC Riverside School of Medicine
  • Robin Walker: Executive Director, Susan G Komen Orange County
  • Regina Chinsio-Kwong, DO: Chief Medical Officer, County Health Officer, Orange County Health Care Agency
  • Susan Choi, Senior Manager, Engagement and Enrollment AAPI Program for Be the Match